Exploring Diversity


Course Overview

This course introduces the 9 protected characteristics covered by the Equality Act 2010 and provides learning around issues such as gender, age, sexual orientation, religion and belief and explores the individual differences which make up our society.

Diversity is about understanding and celebrating individual difference. In modern society it is vital that we all have an understanding and appreciation of the things that make each and every individual unique. Since 2010 when the Equality Act came into force many businesses and indeed society has made great  progress in understanding cultural differences and individuality.

The Academy is committed to supporting businesses and organisations to create and embed a culture of inclusion. Our blended learning team have created this interactive module to help you to gain an understanding of the nine areas of protection (known as a protected characteristic) that the Equality Act covers. This module is ideally suited to learners exploring Equality and Diversity for the first time or as a refresher course for other individuals.


The aim of this course is to provide the learner with an understanding of diversity and why it matters. The Equality Act 2010 and the nine protected Characteristics that it covers.

On completion of this course learners will be able to:

    • Explain what is meant by the term ‘Diversity’
    • Explain why diversity matters
    • Identify the Nine Protected Characteristics
    • Describe how diversity impacts business


This course will take approximately 60 minutes to complete.

Further resources are available from the Diversity Document Toolkit. The toolkit contains factsheets, guides, forms and checklists which can support and embed what has been learnt.